Posted in Christian Living, The Christian Women

Prayer – A Woman’s Warfare

One of my favorite Bible stories is in the fourth chapter of Judges. Here we see a woman judging the nation of Israel. That’s not what I like.

God informs Deborah that Barak is supposed to lead an army of ten thousand against Jabin’s army of chariots, headed by Sisera. When Deborah gives Barak the message, he replies, “If thou wilt go with me, then I will go: but if thou wilt not go with me, then I will not go” (Jud. 4:8). This was a man who had more faith in a woman than in Almighty God. Even though I’ve met a few Baraks in my day, this still isn’t by favorite part.

God rewarded Barak’s lack of faith by delivering his enemy, Sisera, into the hands of a woman. Later, the battle was going well for Barak and his army (amazing! When God calls he equips), so Sisera fled the scene. A woman named Jael offered him refreshment and a place to rest. When he went to sleep, she drove a tent stake through his head.

You guessed it, that’s the part I like. Not because I’m a fan of killing. No, I’m a fan of God delivering on His Word.

A woman’s battlefield is her home. Jael didn’t have to leave home to fight a good fight for the Lord. When God sent the enemy her way, she dealt with him. That saying, “Killing them with kindness” takes on a whole new meaning when you read this story.

Ephesians reminds us that the real battle in this world is a spiritual battle. Ephesians 6:13-20 lists out the spiritual armor God has for his children. It’s the essential battle gear if we’re going to be ready to meet the enemy when he prowls up to our back door.

The last item in the armor gets left off, but it’s the one that guarantees victory. “Praying always” Paul says in verse 18 after he mentions the breastplate of righteousness, the gospel of peace, the shield of faith and the sword of the Spirit. In a spiritual battle, only the Lord can win.

“Be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might” (Eph. 6:10). I can only fail against Satan, but with God as my Captain, I can pray and know that “greater is he that is in (me), than he that is in the world” (1 John 4:4).

When I pray, God changes me. When I pray, God hears me. When I pray, God answers me and amazes me with his wonderful grace and goodness.

I’m not suggesting we should ignore the other parts of God’s armor. Yet, when the battle comes to me, I know that the true Champion is Jesus Christ. Better yet, he’s waiting to hear from me so he can deliver the victory.

Men can go off to war. God calls women to stay home, fighting the fight of faith from our knees. Your family needs a prayer warrior. Will you answer the call?

Up next week: Getting a Spiritual “Workout”

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

