Posted in The Christian Women

Abigail’s Wisdom

Wise women at our recent banquet
Wise women at our recent banquet

Prov. 19:14 “House and riches are the inheritance of fathers: and a prudent wife is from the Lord.”

It might have been just another morning, awakening on the ground, the bleating of sheep and goats reminding me that sheep shearing season was at hand. This meant extra mouths to feed. I said a quick prayer to Jehovah, performed quick morning ablutions and exited the tent to begin overseeing the servants in preparing food for the multitude of shepherds adjoining themselves to our camp for this festive time.

In the midst of all the hustle and bustle, I was waylaid by one of my husband’s young men.

“David sent messengers out of the wilderness to salute our master; and he railed on them.” (1 Samuel 25:14) This wasn’t surprising news. My husband was ill-tempered and difficult to get along with. After all, if your parents name you “fool,” what hope is there for your future?

“But the men were very good unto us,” the young man implored, “and we were not hurt, neither missed we any thing, as long as we were conversant with them, when we were in the fields: they were a wall unto us both by night and day, all the while we were with them keeping the sheep” (1 Samuel 25:15-16).

The abundance of fresh lamb and mutton awaiting roasting mocked the selfishness of my husband. Aromatic scents from the baking bread perfumed us with evidence of our prosperity. Sweet raisin cakes laded the serving dishes nearby.

“Now therefore know and consider what thou wilt do; for evil is determined against our master, and against all his household,” the servant said. Lowering his voice, he confided, “He is such a son of Belial, that a man cannot speak to him” (1 Samuel 25:17).

From experience, I knew there would be no chance of reasoning with my foolish husband. Sighing, I enlisted several servants along with the one who delivered these evil tidings to gather provisions for David and his army. Did Nabal think his shepherds stood a chance against the retribution of the future king and his mighty men of valor?

I sent my generous gift of food with servants, mounted a smaller donkey and set out, using the herds and various encampments to shelter my movement from Nabal. Praying as I went, I beseeched the Lord to help me find favor with David. If his temper flared as easily as Nabal’s, I could greet an offended man and face immediate vengeance.

In a vale, David’s men marched down the opposing hill as my train of goods met them. As I approached, I dropped to the ground and bowed at the man’s feet. “Upon me, my lord, upon me let this iniquity be: and let thine handmaid, I pray thee, speak in thine audience, and hear the words of thine handmaid,”(1 Samuel 25:24). I repeated everything Nabal had done, thanked David for helping our shepherds and offered him the food and drink I had brought.

After I spoke, silence stretched, enveloping me in a turbulent pool of trepidation.

“Blessed be the Lord God of Israel, which sent thee this day to meet me,” David finally said, “and blessed be thy advice” (1 Samuel 25:32-33).

He accepted the provisions and bade me return to my house in peace.

Of course, when I got home, I had to explain everything to Nabal. I expected shouts of reprisal and even a strike or two in the face. Instead, the light faded from his eyes and he fell into a strange stupor.

Ten days later, Nabal was dead.

Trusting the Lord with every situation in my life, He faithfully delivered. He rescued me from a churlish husband and betrothed me to the future king of Israel. I could never have guessed that a few hundred loaves of bread and cakes would lead to such an end.

God is good. Trust His plan for your life. It’s better than anything you could come up with on your own.

Up next week: Message in a (Makeup) Bottle

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

