Posted in The Christian Women

Message in a (Makeup) Bottle

Recently, I purchased a fantastic cosmetic. Inside this tube of mascara, a magic wand awaited. Along with the usual lash lengthening goop, this product boasted “precious cells” that would strengthen lashes and inspire more of them to grow.

I opened the tube and admired the long tip of the mascara wand. Short, tight bristles saturated in creamy black miracle-gel awaited the meet-and-greet with my stubby lashes.

I put the brush back and twisted the cap on tightly. Will this mascara help my forlorn eyelashes while it remains in the tube? Obviously, the answer is no. If I want to cash in on the promises for my lashes, I need to open the tube, pull out the brush and apply it to my lashes. Liberally. Regularly.

Epiphany: It’s the same with the magnificent promises in God’s Holy Word.

Many people think that sitting in a church pew on Sunday will guarantee they live a better life. Other people think that placing a Bible in a prominent position in their home (like the coffee table) insures a level of favor with God.

In truth, the Bible is mascara for our lives, but it can only improve the way we if we apply it. “Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against Thee” (Psalm 119:11).

Sitting in church and listening to the preacher resembles staring at the mascara tube. If we don’t take the Word and apply it to our life, we won’t ever see a change.

What do I mean by apply it? We can’t rub it on like face cream. Let’s say we read “The integrity of the upright shall guide them” in Proverbs 11:3. We’re at the store and give the clerk a $10 bill. She gives us change back as if we’ve given her a $20 bill.

When we hand the money back and tell her, “You gave me too much change. I only gave you $10,” we have applied God’s Word to our life. Don’t you look lovelier already? Yes, you certainly do.

Applying God’s Word must happen on a daily basis if we want to be transformed. In practice, the Bible that’s resting on the coffee table needs to be opened and read, seven days per week. The instructions on my magical mascara say: “Apply daily for best results.” God says the same about the transforming power of his Word.

As much as I paid for that mascara, I still don’t use just a small amount. Oh no. I make sure every single tiny wisp of hair that surrounds my eyeball gets lubricated with that growth potion.

It’s the same with the Bible. “As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby” (1 Peter 2:2). Have you ever taken a bottle away from a hungry baby after only a few moments? Ear plugs would have been a nice accessory at that moment because screaming ensued.

We should have the same thirst for the truth in God’s Word. We want to read it, ingest it, digest it and grow to be “conformed to the image of his Son” (Romans 8:29).

Thick lashes won’t profit us nearly as long or as well as becoming more like Jesus Christ. Still, I’ll be using the magic mascara daily. I should think it would be obvious to do the same with God’s Holy Word.

My message in a (makeup) bottle: Apply God’s Word liberally and daily for reward-winning results.

Up next week: Desperately Seeking Happiness

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

