Posted in Daily Living

April Showers Bring May Flowers

tulips

Rain, dripping from the downspout, splatters onto the porch railing. Wind slams a wall of water against the window pane. Water pounding on the roof, the drumming sound that lulls some to sleep makes me grimace.

This is springtime in the Pacific Northwest. I hate it. I despise rain. In fact, I’ve decided it’s a sin. Stay with me here while I prove it.

God created a paradise for Adam and his lovely wife, Eve. There was no rain in this magnificent garden of golden sunshine and cool, breezy nature walks with Jehovah.

“But there went up a mist from the earth, and watered the whole face of the ground” (Gen. 2:6)

In a perfect world, it doesn’t rain. Whenever I tell people that I believe it should only rain in the nighttime, they look at me like I’m crazy. Why not? That’s how God originally intended it.

This isn’t something that ended with the fall of man. Nope. God intended for fallen man to enjoy beautiful azure skies and smile-inducing sunshine on a daily basis.

Of course, if it’s good, mankind will ruin it. Enter the generation of Noah. God is so sorry He ever created mankind that he determines to start over. In fact, his plan is just to wash them all off the face of his Earth.

This is when rain entered, and it’s a shame and a sin. I’m looking forward to returning to the precipitation-free zone that awaits us for eternity.

I love those May flowers, but I’d like to water them with God’s original showers.

Coming Next Week: Showers of Blessings from Heaven

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

