Posted in Daily Living

Showers of Blessing: Our Praise

“Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name” Psalm 103:1

This verse from my favorite Psalm perplexes me. When I think of blessings, I think of good things that are beyond my control. Blessings exceed my expectations and fill me with wonder and awe.

How can I give these to the Lord? What could I have that he would want to be blessed with?

Nothing I have would be unique and precious. Anything I might want to offer him would be something he had created. What a conundrum!

Psalm 103: 2 goes on to say “forget not all his benefits.” Ah-hah! This is something I can do. All the good things he has given me, all the times he has forgiven me, every sickness he has healed: these things are unique to my life. I can remember these. Then what?

Flip a few pages in your Bible to Psalm 107. Clear directives there show us exactly how we can bless the Lord.

“O give thanks unto the Lord, for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever” (Ps. 107:1). We are created in the image of God and he wants to have a relationship with us. It’s mind-boggling, I know. Still, it’s true.

We need to remember his mercy in forgiving our sins and his goodness in providing us with all the necessities of life. While we’re thinking about all of that, we need to open our mouth and tell him how grateful we are for these things.

“Let the redeemed of the Lord say” (Ps 107:2) seems like a pretty clear directive. Our mouths can keep us out of trouble (instead of getting us in deeper) when we use them to tell everyone we know about all the wonderful things God has done for us.

As humans, we like to take credit for things. “That was the best dessert I ever ate.” Instead of gloating, I answer, “It’s a recipe from Aunt Pat.” See how easy it is to give the credit away? We can do it.

After all, we can’t take credit for being born or for the way we look. Some people might want to take credit for their intelligence or athletic ability, but aren’t those inherited traits we enhance with training? God made us and he deserves recognition for all the great things he’s doing in our lives.

Wouldn’t it be great to give God a blessing after all he has done for you? You can. Tell God “thanks” with heartfelt gratitude. Tell someone you know about something awesome God is doing in your life right now.

Go on. Bless the Lord. If anyone deserves it, God Almighty does.

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

2 thoughts on “Showers of Blessing: Our Praise

  1. You are very correct.

    It is SO easy for us to sit back and revel in our accomplishments when our focus has shifted away from God, and the fact that He is the reason for ALL things.

    Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me” … and nothing without.

    1. Or rather we focus so much on what we don’t have that we forget to praise God for all we do have. Yes, there is a mirror in front of me.

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

