Posted in Christian Living

MY TESTIMONY – part 1

On Wednesday, March 5, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. As I sat in my recliner that evening, I began to think about all of the blessings that the Lord has given me already in my life. The words to Carroll Roberson’s song “Wonderful Life” began to sound in my mind and I echo what is said in the chorus of that song. “If I had no more blessings in store I’d never ask or wonder why because if I died today, I can honestly say that I’ve had a wonderful life.”

I was born to parents that loved the Lord. Shortly after birth my parents took me to church for the first time. Not many parents today are willing to “take that risk”. They are too afraid that their newborn will get sick from being at Church so they keep them away from church for weeks or even the first few months.

Mom was the Church pianist and Dad was the Sunday School Superintendent. We were in Church every time the doors were open. The family vacations that I remember as a child were trips to Lexington, North Carolina for camp meeting at Bro. Noah Frye’s Church or a week in Seffner, Florida for camp meeting at Bro Lawson’s Church. Many of my other memories from my childhood revolve around camp meetings at our home church: Solid Rock Baptist Church of Homosassa, FL. As you can tell we were in church a lot, and I loved every minute of it.

My Grandparents on both side were also Christians. Grandpa Goodman was the President of the Florida Singing Convention. After he passed away, I remember going to Granny Goodman’s house and watching all of the Gaither videos. Our family has always had a strong love for southern gospel music.

I spent the majority of my time around my mom’s parents. I remember as a child going to Granny O’steen’s house and seeing her sitting at the table studying scripture. That seemed to be her favorite thing to do. Whether it was at a Lecanto Panther football game or Hunting, I loved to spend time with my Grandfather. I remember sitting in the seat of “Old Red” headed to the hunting club and listening to Rev. B.W. Smith preaching a message entitled “Watch them Dogs”. I believe Grandpa played that tape to the point that it wore out. I also remember hearing him tell how the Lord saved him on the third Sunday of October 1972 somewhere between his pew and the altar.

What a blessing it is to have such a Godly heritage. I don’t know what it is like to have a drunk for a daddy. I don’t know what it is like to suffer from child abuse. I don’t know what it is like to not be in Church. I am thankful for a Godly heritage.

 

)

Leave a Reply

