Posted in Christian Living

Together

together purplleEvery year I challenge our Church with a yearly theme. In the past we have used slogans such as “Going & Growing”, “Making a Difference”, and “Love Like Jesus”. The purpose behind the theme is to give direction for the year. While I have started each year with the best of intentions and well thought out ideas, our themes really never became more than just that, an idea.

January 2015 is the beginning of my 6th year as Pastor of this Church. This makes me above average. According to the most recent statistics, the average pastor only stays 3-5 years. While my tenure may be above average, my performance as a Pastor has been below average. I have let far too many intentions and ideas die before they became a reality.

Several months back I began to evaluate what I needed to change if I was going to be above average. What would help make me a better Pastor? What I realized is I needed to do a better job of working together with those in our Church. We need to work together more.

The biggest change I made was the creation of a Ministry Team. This Team is made up of 5 other couples within the Church that represent every demographic of our Church. I am meeting with this team on a regular basis and we are planning the events and activities for the Church year. It is through the development of this Team that the Lord gave me the theme for 2015.

Life is meant to be experienced in communion and relationship with others.  The power of the early church was experienced in group dynamics.  God Himself calls the church a Body, a Building, a Bride.  Each of these descriptive terms alludes to unity, harmony, and togetherness.  This is not a suggestion, this is what we are.  Therefore, to function properly the Church must work together to fulfill its God-given assignments.

First Corinthians 3:9 says “For we are labourers together with God”. We are called to assemble together, pray together, believe together, grow together, follow together, and be built up together. To reiterate, God calls the church to experience life together.

I know that you have probably figured it out by now but if you have not, our theme is simply the word “Together”. It is my prayer that 2015 will be the greatest year of unity here at the First Missionary Baptist Church. We will be focusing on three main areas: Worshipping Together, Growing Together, and Serving Together.

One of the greatest strengths of the early Church was their togetherness. They experienced life together. They served the Lord together. They impacted their communities together. It is amazing how much a Church can impact their community when they work together. I am praying that at the end of the year, our Church will be able to give testimony of the great power of a Church working together with God

Leave a Reply

