Posted in Daily Living

Praise the Lord: Psalm 150

In 2015, this blog has covered a broad range of topics while striving to maintain an underlying thread of connectivity.

Back at the beginning of the year, I mentioned the four topical areas I would be using as guiding themes: service, growth, unity and worship or praise. Whether I use a similar scheme for planning posts in 2016 is undecided.

While it did help me focus my thoughts, there were times I didn’t feel inspired by the subject I was addressing. Writers like to put pen to paper when inspiration hits. Without the muse on my shoulder? That’s a lot more like work.

For the final three months, much of what I post will be directly from the Bible (as this first post is) or from the heart of a song writer (next post) or a poet.

While this means I won’t have to come up with as much original content, I still have to scour the universe (cyberspace and my Bible at a minimum) to locate things that speak to me and will, hopefully, resonate with you.

Without further ado, let’s praise God with the psalmist.

Psalm 150

1 Praise ye the LORD.
Praise God in his sanctuary:
praise him in the firmament of his power.

2 Praise him for his mighty acts:
praise him according to his excellent greatness.

3 Praise him with the sound of the trumpet:
praise him with the psaltery and harp.

4 Praise him with the timbrel and dance:
praise him with stringed instruments and organs.

5 Praise him upon the loud cymbals:
praise him upon the high sounding cymbals.

6 Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD.
Praise ye the LORD.

Image from TCWDaily

The word “praise” appears FOURTEEN times in these short six verses. I could hardly imagine an more fitting first post. Such expressions of devotion from the psalmist perfectly begin a series on worship and praise.

Since I have breath, I should praise the Lord. Are you breathing today? Did you remember to praise the Lord for that blessing?

If you have any ideas, content or favorite worship and praise poetry, please leave the information in the comments.

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

