Posted in Christian Living

Why FBI?

fbi3

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you’ve been hearing side references to FBI over the past six months. In fact, many of the posts you’ve read hear during those months were inspired by FBI.

Inquiring minds want to know: what is FBI?

FBI is an acronym that can stand for plenty of things. You might have thought: FBI equals Federal Bureau of Investigation. Or you may have thought about the FBI Virus, a computer malware acronym.

In fact, if you follow this link, you’ll find the acronym FBI returned sixty different possible results. Things like Full Blooded Irish and Fee Based Income. The tech types might recognize File Based Installer.

I’m a personal fan of Funny Beautiful Intelligent. Aren’t these my three strongest character traits? Or  not.

When I mention FBI here, though, I’m speaking of Faith Bible Institute.

And if you want to learn about the Bible, I couldn’t think of a better place to begin your studies. 

Faith Bible Institute

Follow the link for all the details about this DVD-based Bible curriculum. You’ll be inspired by the passion of Brother John Yates and his thirty-year career teaching through the Bible.

hires_4757257080102
Brother John T.Yates

If you think the curriculum is probably stale because it’s been repeated so often, think again.

Brother Yates rewrites the curriculum every semester. He has taught through the Bible ten times since 1985 and admits he learns something new every time.

Better still, he doesn’t claim to be a Bible expert and know everything there is to know about it.

How it Works

FBI offers six semesters worth of Bible classes to cover every book of the Bible. It goes through the Bible chronologically, meaning you won’t necessarily study the books in the order they appear in the Bible.

We’re currently studying semester one. In our Old Testament class we’re covering the books of Genesis and Job. Our New Testament class is the first half of the life of Christ, drawn from the four Gospels. Our Theology class covers the doctrine of God the Trinity and the Bible.

It makes my head hurt thinking about all that information.

Each week, there is reading homework to be completed. This involves chapters from both the Old and New Testaments and content from the Wilmington’s Guide to the Bible, the only textbook used for the course.

Well, other than the Bible, of course.

Our church decided to hold the FBI classes on Sunday afternoons. We meet from 2pm to 5pm and watch the DVD lessons, usually one class from each subject. There are two short breaks between the classes.

Overall, this course requires a time investment of six to eight hours every week, depending on how fast of a reader you are.

Why I Love It

There are dozens of reasons to love FBI. Here are my top six:

  1. I adore learning. I classify myself as a true blue lifetime learner. If I’m not learning, I’m not happy. (This is probably the main reason that reading is my favorite pastime.)
  2. It has opened my mind. I’m not talking about discovering new doctrines. I’m talking about having my eyes opened up to things I’d never noticed in the scriptures before.
  3. It makes me want to study even more. Too much study might be a bad thing if you’re digesting the wrong thing. Too much Bible study? I don’t think you can go wrong with this.
  4. It gives me topics for this blog. And I’m sure all of you appreciate seeing fresh topics here.
  5. Ideas for new Bible study books abound. Maybe this is number two all over again, but since I’ve determined to pen two study books per year, this course is a God-send.
  6. I’m more amazed by God. Discovering all the treasure God left us in His Word humbles me. It also makes me stand in awe of His incredible knowledge and care.

I think it goes without saying that these classes have made me more aware of how I should be living. After all, isn’t that the main reason God gave us His written Word?

Go ahead and check out Faith Bible Institute for yourself. You might be surprised at how much fun learning can be when God is at the center of it.

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

