Posted in The Christian Women

What it Means to be a Mother

What is a mother? What does it mean to be a mother? If you have a mother, an immediate portrait of her comes to mind when you hear the word.

Motherhood is the second commandment given to women. First, she was to help her husband subdue the earth and along the way fill it with little people (Genesis 1:26).

Even the first woman’s name claimed the importance of being a mother. Eve means “mother of all living.”

Name it and claim it.

I’m one of those women who didn’t ever imagine being a mom. While other girls played with dolls, I climbed trees and pretended to lasso wild horses. When my friends got jobs babysitting, I was happier picking berries or doing yard work (and I DESPISE yard work).

Mother_isI’ll never forget the expression on my husband’s mother’s face the day I told her I wasn’t having kids. Shocked outrage doesn’t begin to describe it.

She turned to my not-yet-husband and said, “You can’t marry her. She doesn’t want kids.”

Needless to say, he married me. A few years later we had two sons, separated by a respectable two year age gap.

Being a mother defies description. Joy. Sorrow. Golden highs. Pitch black lows. Hopes and expectations. Wonder and amazement. Anxiety.

Mother2

If nothing else will send you to your knees, having children will do it.

There will be an unimaginably high fever. “Lord, heal him.”

One might take a plunge out of a second story window. “Oh Lord, help us.”

They might travel the highways in dark and snowy weather. Or walk away from the faith you taught them. Or take a job thousands of miles away.

I never knew how to pray fervently or specifically until I became a mother. The names on my lips most often when I pray (and praise) are the ones written on two birth certificates.

Motherhood2

Click on this link to see what other women think it means to be a mother.

What about you? What does it mean to be a mother? Even if you aren’t a mother, you have one.

Next Week: Portrait of a Loving Mother

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

