Posted in Christian Living

Are You There God?

The world is spinning on its axis the same as every other day, but today it feels like a merry-go-round. Out of control. And it’s easy to wonder “Where is God?”

In hopes of seeking an answer to this question, this post will share a few links to other posts on the subject.

First of all, what happens in our hearts when prayers go unanswered?

Isabella Morganthal writes:

Actually, there are a lot of moments when I just don’t understand what God is doing.

Like during those times when I pray for physical healing and yet I still suffer. Or when I ask God for a dream that still goes unfulfilled.

God, why do You allow so many prayers to seemingly go unanswered?

It’s the question heavy on my heart.

I continue watching the TV as the power of Hurricane Irma in Florida only grows stronger. Yes, these moments make me wonder. They cause me to cry out…

Why? Why would You give us the opposite of the good things we pray for, if You are a good God?

Read the rest of the post here.

Ps6.9

Bad things happen and we stare in awe at the devastation and wonder, “Where is God? What’s He doing? Why is this happening?”

But rather than dwelling on those questions, maybe we should focus on these:

  1. What could I have done differently to change this outcome?
  2. What part did I play in this bad thing?
  3. If my bad decisions led to it, what did I learn from it?
  4. Who can I help overcome a similar bad thing?
  5. What is God trying to teach me during this difficult time?

Most of the time, this keeps me from wallowing too long in the slop called self pity.

But it doesn’t free me from making amends when the answers to the first two questions indicate I played a role in what happened.
And question four empowers me to use what I’ve learned to help other people.
When bad things happen, they hurt more when we face them alone.
When bad things happen, people probably can’t stop them or change them, but they can buoy up the ones suffering.
There’s been an ongoing “bad thing” happening in my personal world for many months. I’ve prayed about it. Ranted about it. Tried to stand up to it.

You can read the rest of that post here.

Are you at a point in your life where you’re wondering if God is listening to your prayers? Maybe questioning how devastation and disaster is part of His good and perfect will?

Feel free to throw your questions God’s way, but if He didn’t answer Job, he probably won’t answer you.

Job_LifeLessons

Because when things are dark, He wants us to come into His light, bask in His goodness, focus on the future when He rules it all.

In other words: have faith in Him. Believe His promises. Really believe. It will make a difference in the way you think about the chaos swirling around you.

Go ahead and step off the merry-go-round and into the arms of the One who loves you unconditionally. Is God there? Yes, arms open wide, waiting for you to fling yourself into them with abandon.

Have you been questioning things happening around you? What verses help you when things are bad?

Author:

Freelance writer and editor whose background in education and BA in English Language & Literature amps her love of all things books. Twenty years of parenting and 26 of marriage gives unique insight to her preferred audiences of women, young adults, and teenagers.

Leave a Reply

